Heritage Council workshop, Dublin

Just delivered a new workshop for Failte Ireland and the Heritage Council for museum and heritage professionals on the museums standards programme.  “More on messaging and media” was a follow on from the introductory course I delivered two years ago, picking up on two areas that seem regularly to cause people particular concern and difficulty.

It was great to be able to consider these two topics in more detail and to build on the material I wrote for Sharing our Stories  (see http://www.heritageweek.ie/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/Heritage-Interpretation-Manual.pdf) two years ago. I have been thinking a lot about how to provide good training in media selection since then.  Today I felt I had cracked that one!

There were more discussions over lunch about the sensitivities involved in interpreting Anglo-Irish history to British audiences. I have some free time tomorrow and plan to drop into Kilmainham Gaol to explore this further.

About susancrosstelltale

Great visits to heritage and natural sites do not happen by accident. This blog is about the work that make special sites great places to visit. I hope it will be useful to visitors and host alike. Find out more at me and my blog.
This entry was posted in Ireland, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

