My passion for pinkfeet … and pumpkins

.. goes back all the way to my youth. So it was good to see them back before I head off to Australia. Pink feet are pink-footed geese.  They fly into the UK each autumn from points north in small groups that murmur companionably to each other and congregate here in flocks of 10s of thousands.  I wait for them.  This year it seemed to be going away without having grounded the changing seasons with a skein of geese against a cold morning sky.

So it was good after all that I had  allowed the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust to cajole me into running a workshop for them at Martin Mere just three days before the Big Trip Down Under.  It seemed crazy but if I had stuck to my guns and said no, I would not have seen 500 or so of my favourite and most familiar geese, nor the great view of fieldfares on the haw berries. I would have completely missed two of the most important bits of my English autumn. Now I have had that annual great rush of welcome, I can leave, knowing that the northern seasons are turning fine without me.

And of course the workshop went fine. When I nearly ran out of words there were pumpkins to carve.  And under the blessing of pinkfeet, Sir Peter Scott’s vision for wetlands and wildfowl seemed vibrant and thriving.

About susancrosstelltale

Great visits to heritage and natural sites do not happen by accident. This blog is about the work that make special sites great places to visit. I hope it will be useful to visitors and host alike. Find out more at me and my blog.
This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

